AIWS Standards and Practice Committee

The AIWS Standards and Practice Committee is established to:

  • Update and collect information on threats and potential harm posed by AI
  • Connect companies, universities, and governments to find ways to prevent threats and potential harm
  • Engage in the audit of behaviors and decisions in the creation of AI
  • Create both an Index and Report about AI threats – and identify the source of threat
  • Create a Report on respect for, and application of, ethics codes and standards of governments, companies, universities, individuals, and all others
  • Work with the UN to call for an AI Peace Treaty, to AI, similar to the Chemical Weapons Convention that prohibits the creation, stockpiling, and use of those weapons
  • Work with AI experts on a consensus announcement that “AI experts not engage in any work for, or participate in projects developing AI weapons”.

Members of AIWS Standards and Practice Committee:

Governor Michael Dukakis, Chairman of Michael Dukakis Institute

Prof. Nazli Choucri, MIT

Ms. Sarah Cotterill, Harvard Fellow

Mr. Allan Cytryn, Representative of Michael Dukakis Institute in New York

Dr. Masahiro Fukuhara, Founder and CEO of IGS and GROW360, Japan

Prof. Jason Furman, Chairman of President Barack Obama’s Council of Economic Advisers, Professor of the Practice of Economic Policy at Harvard Kennedy School, Nonresident Senior Fellow at the Peterson Institute for International Economics

Mr. Ian Goodfellow, Research Scientist at Google

Prof. Hiroshi Ishiguro, Director of the Intelligent Robotics Laboratory, Osaka University, Japan

Ms. Beatriz Merino, Former Prime Minister of Peru

Mr. Tuan Anh Nguyen, Michael Dukakis Institute

Prof. Thomas Patterson, Harvard University

Prof. Derek Reveron, U.S Naval War College

Mr. Marc Rotenberg, President and Executive Director of the Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC)

Prof. John Savage, Brown University

Prof. Mathias Scheutz, Director of Human Robots Interaction Lab, Tuft University

Prof. David Silbersweig, Harvard University

Prof. Max Tegmark, MIT

Ms. Vaira Vike-Freiberga, President of World Leadership Alliance – Club de Madrid and former President of Latvia

Prof. Patrick Winston, MIT

Dr. Kazuo Yano, Chief Engineering of Hitachi, Japan